Upstate News

October 18, 2005
Darryl Geddes 315 464-4828

SUNY Upstate President Gregory L. Eastwood, M.D., receives Onondaga County Medical Society’s highest honor

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – Gregory L. Eastwood, M.D., president of SUNY Upstate Medical University, has been named recipient of the Onondaga County Medical Society’s highest honor-the 2005 Distinguished Service Award. Eastwood will receive the award Oct. 26 at a ceremony in Syracuse.

“This award recognizes Dr. Eastwood’s tremendous accomplishments during his presidency of Upstate Medical University,” said Arthur P. Vercillo, M.D., president-elect of the county medical society.

Eastwood announced recently that he would step down as president of SUNY Upstate in the coming year, once a successor has been selected. Eastwood became SUNY Upstate’s fifth president since it joined the SUNY system in 1950. He has been an outspoken advocate for the university on all fronts, which has led to heightened awareness of the critically important public service missions that the state’s four SUNY academic medical centers play in their communities, the state and the world.

Locally, Eastwood has lent his visionary leadership to various organizations and institutions. He currently serves as chair of the University Hill Corporation and on the boards of directors of the Metropolitan Development Association, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the CNY Hospital Executive Council, the Syracuse Community Health Center Foundation, the CNY Biotechnology Center, Syracuse 20/20 and Success By 6.

Eastwood is not the first from SUNY Upstate to receive the Distinguished Service Award. Other SUNY Upstate professionals honored include William J. Williams, M.D. (1990); Patricia A. Randall, M.D. (1992); David G. Murray, M.D. (1997); Robert W. Daly, M.D. (2002).

Search Upstate News

Upstate in the News

News Feed
Subscribe to RSS Feed
Follow us on Twitter