Upstate News

September 18, 2008
Doretta Royer 315 464-4833

SUNY Upstate honors outstanding faculty

SUNY Upstate Medical University faculty honored for outstanding service

Community fundraiser and local architectural firm also win honors

SYRACUSE, N.Y. — Fifteen faculty members, a local architectural firm and pancreatic cancer victim’s daughter have been honored for distinguished service to SUNY Upstate Medical University at the university’s Fall Faculty Convocation and Presentation of Awards Sept. 17 in Weiskotten Hall on the SUNY Upstate campus.

The recipients and their awards include (residence in parenthesis):

? President’s Award for Excellence and Leadership in Research: Stephen V. Faraone, (Syracuse).

? President’s Award for Excellence in Basic Research by a Young Investigator: Ying Huang (Syracuse).

? President’s Award for Advancement of Affirmative Action: Susan Keeter, (Syracuse). ? President’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service: Karen C. Kelly, (Liverpool).

? President’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service: Mantosh J. Dewan, (Fayetteville).? President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching: Edward M. Darling (Baldwinsvile), Wanda Porten Fremont (DeWitt), Francis J. Gilroy (Binghamton), Debora E. Kirsch (Cazenovia) and Thomas J. Poole, (Jamesville).

? President’s Award for Outstanding Voluntary Faculty: Raymond J. Cassady (Syracuse), Michael J. Gehman, (Sayre, Pa.), William J. Loftus (Fayetteville), Sherri Loucks (Canastota), and Jay O. Taub (Niskayuna, N.Y.).

? President’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropic Service, Individual: Meghan J. Curry (Camillus).

? President’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropic Service, Corporate:
King and King Architects (Manlius).

Search Upstate News

Upstate in the News

News Feed
Subscribe to RSS Feed
Follow us on Twitter