New Directions Task Force Committee Membership

  • Sandra M Banas, MST RPA-C
    Assistant Professor of College of Health Professions (2013 Liaison)
  • Trish Booth, MA
    Member of the Public (2013)
  • Ann Botash, MD~**
    Associate Dean for Education
    Professor of Pediatrics & Vice Chair for Education
  • Deborah Y. Bradshaw, MD
    Associate Professor of Neurology; Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
    Director of Neurology Residency Program
  • Jennifer Christner, MD
    Associate Dean for UGME
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics
  • Lynn Cleary, MD***
    Senior Associate Dean of Education; Vice President for Academic Affairs
    Professor of Medicine
  • Robert Cooney, MD
    Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery
  • Robert Corona, MD
    Professor and Chair, Department of Pathology (2013)
  • John W. Epling Jr, MD, MSEd
    Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine
    Associate Professor of Public Health & Preventive Medicine
  • Lauren Germain, PhD
    Director of Evaluation, Assessment and Research
  • Michael Iannuzzi, MD+
    Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine
  • Patricia M. Kane, PhD **
    Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Stephen Knohl, MD
    Vice Chair and Residency Program Director, Department of Medicine Associate Professor of Medicine
  • Margaret M. Maimone, PhD *
    Associate Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology
    Assistant Dean of Student Affairs for College of Medicine Advising
    Co-Director, Molecular and Cellular Principles of Medicine Course
  • Linda Markell **
    Office of Educational Research and Development
  • Lisa Oliver *
    Clerkship Coordinator, Medicine
  • Lisa Phelan***
    Director, Accreditation Compliance & Monitoring
  • Gabe Plourde,
    Medical Student (Third Year); MPH Student (First Year)
  • Christopher W. Ryan, MD
    Associate Professor, Binghamton Campus
    Clerkship Director, Family Medicine
  • Thomas L. Schwartz, MD*
    Associate Professor and Director of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
    Clerkship Director Behavior Science Course
  • Robert W. West,PhD***
    Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
    Co-Director, Molecular and Cellular Principles of Medicine Course

*ND Phase I Masters and staff
**ND Phase II Masters and staff
***ND Phase III Masters and staff
~ NDTF Chair
+ Past NDTF Chair

New Directions Task Force Committee Past Members

  • Ralitsa Akins, MD, PhD
    Associate Dean, Binghamton Campus
  • Kortney Robinson,
    Medical Student (Fourth Year)
  • Aaron Stupple, MD
    Past student representative (Class 2012)
Ann Botash, MD, Associate Dean of Curriculum

Ann Botash, MD
Associate Dean for Education

Welcome to the New Directions Task Force site about our efforts for curriculum renewal. Members of the task force developed a vision for our students as Fearless Learners™. Driving our new curriculum proposal is our understanding that learning is not just about studying what is known, but also about curiosity,discovering new ideas and challenging ourselves to do better.

To submit suggestions for review by the NDTF for curriculum redesign, please send me an email. Thank you for your interest in our efforts!