The Bruce Dearing Writing Award (Upstate Students, Faculty, & Staff)

Dearing Writing Awards Ceremony

group photo of winners

Back row:
President Dr. Gregory Eastwood, Ruth McKay, Pam Freeman, Michael Daugherty
Front row:
Ann Botash, Kaitlin Kyi, Makandiwana Shoniwa, Julienne Abad, Brielle Stanton

Winners of the 2014 Bruce Dearing Writing Awards

Student Category Poetry

First Prize
Brielle Stanton, MSI
The Cough

Honorable Mention
Makandiwana Shoniwa, MSI
The Forging

Student Category Prose

First Prize
Kaitlin Kyi, MSI
Roman Bridges

Honorable Mention
Julienne Abad, MSI
Valerie's Secret

Faculty/Employee Poetry

First Prize
Pamela Freeman
Where Does It Hurt

Honorable Mention
Michael Daugherty, MD

Faculty/Employee Prose

First Prize
Ruth McKay, MA, LMFT
Innocence in the Face of Darkness

Honorable Mention
Ann Botash, MD
Grandma's Yarn

This award is given in honor of Dr. Bruce Dearing, the first Professor of Medical Humanities at Upstate. The award celebrates the connections between the healing sciences and creative arts. Established in 1985, the Dearing Writing Award is presented annually for the best essay, short story, or poem in two categories: student and faculty/employee. All submissions to the contest also receive consideration for publication in CBH's journal, The Healing Muse.


Submissions accepted annually.
December through March.

Open to Upstate students, faculty/employees only!

  • Subject matter is open.
  • Student winners receive cash awards.
  • Faculty/employee winners receive gift certificates.
  • Submit 2 copies, double-spaced, one copy has title page with name, address and telephone number. Indicate college and class for students, department for faculty/employees. The second copy has title page only.
  • LIMIT: 1 entry per writer, maximum 2,500 words.

    Mail submission to:

    Deirdre Neilen
    Center for Bioethics and Humanities
    618 Irving Ave.
    Syracuse, NY 13210

    or email submission to:

For more information call 315.464.5404